Affirmations For Writers

balzacspan

From the Mentoring/Tutoring Department of Bookbuster:

I first learned about using affirmations when I took a writing workshop with poet Joan Larkin many years ago. I’m not a big fan of hokey New Age methods, but I have to say, these really do work—or at least they did for me.

You can use these affirmations in lots of different ways: make signs and tape them around the house; make them the first line in a freewrite exercise; say them to yourself in the mirror, or—and this is what I did—make an audiotape of them to play back to yourself, sort of like self-hypnosis.

I recorded them a few different ways: in the first (“I”), second (“You”) and third (“Marcy”) person; once with background music, and once without. There’s  something very powerful about hearing your own voice saying, “You are an excellent writer,” or “Everyone wants to read Marcy’s work” with Chuck Mangione’s saxophone in the background.

You can also create your own highly personalized affirmations. Just think about whatever interferes with your writing, something that does you in time after time. Say, for instance, you’re terrified of criticism, so much that you’re sometimes prevented from writing by thoughts of unfavorable reviews.  One contradiction for that is the third affirmation on the list below–and that’s the way you create your own affirmation.

Try it, you’ll like it! What do you have to lose?

Muse

Affirmations For Writers

I am an excellent writer.

Everyone wants to read my work.

My work always meets with acceptance and understanding from everyone who reads it.

I always finish everything I start with ease and pleasure.

My writing time is always well spent.

My writing improves with every breath I take.

It is safe for me to share my work.

The more I give my work to others, the more it nourishes me.

The more I reveal myself in my work, the safer I am.

It is safe for me to risk rejection. I respect myself, therefore I can never be truly rejected.

It doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks of my writing.

My writing enhances my experiences and my life.

I am willing for my ego to fail so that I can be open to universal inspiration.

I can write wherever, whenever and whatever I want.

My writing is always better than I realize.

I have all the time I need to write successfully.

My friends and family support my writing.

I receive full cooperation from everyone for my writing success.

Everything I do for enjoyment feeds my writing.

My writing is worth more than money.

I have something important to contribute with my writing.

I deserve to nourish myself with my writing.

hand and pen

This entry was posted in freeing creativity, tutoring, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Affirmations For Writers

  1. jennifermuirhead says:

    It’s worth a shot! Thanks for the suggestion.

  2. Laura Best says:

    Hi Marcy,

    I’m a firm believer in affirmations. I’m glad you wrote a post about it. Do they help? I think they do. Can’t hurt that’s for sure!!

Leave a Reply

